Souhlas se zpracováním osobních údajů společnosti Academia

Tento web využívá cookies. Jeho používáním s tím vyjadřujete souhlas.

MENU

ZAVŘÍT

Zobrazit kategorie e-shopuZavřít kategorie e-shopu
The Librarian of Auschwitz

The Librarian of Auschwitz

ITURBE ANTONIO

Skladem

Cena s DPH 215
(Běžně 239 Kč)
  • Brožovaná
  • 432 stran
Rok vydání
2017
Nakladatelství
Penguin Books
EAN
9781529104776
For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is the story of the smallest library in the world - and the most dangerous.

'It wasn't an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns...'

Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezin ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious books the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the `living books' - prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be `borrowed' to educate the children in the camp.

But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the children's block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor...

Nenašli jste všechny informace?
Zeptejte se nás

Související